Marisa Oldham’s Author Spotlight Event: d Nichole King

Today’s featured author in
Marisa Oldham’s Author Spotlight Event

is the fabulous D Nichole King!

D is here today promoting the Beneath the Cape Superhero Anthology, which was released yesterday for a limited time only.   Besides featuring an array of wonderful authors, all proceeds go to the Wounded Warrior Project.  Let’s give this one our full support!

Beneath the Cape: Superhero Anthology benefitting the Wounded Warrior Project

tmp_3138-BeneathTheCape_3D141244541

I am excited to kick off this post with an exclusive teaser and excerpt from d Nichole King’s contribution, Breaking Through.

BT teaser 3

And your preview of the prologue!

I can’t move. My arms, my legs, they won’t budge.
It’s pitch black, but I think I’m inside of something. Something long and small…a capsule, maybe? Stretched out above my head, my fingers touch cold metal. Whatever I’m inside is only as long as I am. I wouldn’t have much wiggle room, even if I could move.
I don’t know how I got here or how long I’ve been tied up. I do a quick mental scan, searching for any piece of information. Nothing. I can’t even recall my own name.
What I do know, is I’m running out of oxygen. Each breath comes shorter, faster, and if I can’t control it soon, I’ll pass out before I figure out what’s going on.
I close my eyes, suck in one deep breath and let it out through puckered lips.
Calm down.
Relax.
Slow your heart rate.
What I tell myself comes from memory, though I have no clue where it came from. Whatever it is, though, it works. Somehow, my body is trained to go into hibernation-mode on mental command.
Now I need to figure out how to get out of here. With my eyes still closed, I concentrate on the smell of my prison. The more I know about this box, the better my chances are of escaping. The tang of what I inhale reminds me of burnt metal and rubber. There’s another scent too, one I can’t place even though my brain insists I know. I dig deeper, filing through blank spaces that aren’t supposed to be empty. I probably shouldn’t be spending precious energy on it, but something tells me this strange odor is important.
Bright light pours over my face, and my eyelids fly open. Above me, sunlight streams through a circular window. I don’t know how long it will last, so I quickly confirm that I am inside some sort of capsule with silver metal walls. I also confirm that I was right earlier; the tube is small, barely big enough to fit my body. The window sits exactly six inches from the tip of my nose—I have no idea how I know that.
I see nothing above me except blue skies. I don’t hear anything outside either.
I tug at the restraints holding me in place, but they don’t give. And then I feel something, something on the outside. The capsule I’m in is moving—upward. Shit.
Calm down. Relax. Slow your heart rate, I repeat to myself.
It’s working. My body is responding—
Until I’m free-falling.
I’m not in it for long before the tube hits water. I know it’s water because of the buoyancy of the capsule. But I know because of something else too—I feel it. Surrounding me, the water gives off its own energy, almost as if it’s surrendering to me, willing me to control it. Which makes no sense.
Above me, the sunlight begins to refract as it struggles to break through the water now covering the tiny window. That’s when I realize I’m sinking. Deeper, deeper underwater.
As the light fades, the panic inside me rises. I try the calming mantra again, but nothing happens. Drops of water fall onto my forehead. The seal around my window creaks under the pressure of the water.
I’m going to drown.
I struggle against the restraints. Twisting my body. Pulling at my wrists and ankles. I yank and kick, but it’s in vain. I’m trapped.
“Fuck!” I scream.
Water sprays in from the seal, salty like the ocean, and suddenly I register where I am—in the Pacific Ocean, off the coast of South Korea. Except, I still don’t know why I’m here or how I got here.
What I do know is that this is where I’m going to die.

And some more teasers to provoke you to use your one click finger for this great cause!

11403475_746139332161916_5552247011640771906_n

Avengers in bed Breaking Through teaser Deviant supervillains Falling for Kitten teaser Cat Love Gypsy Love teaser Heroes teaser Reaping Angels teaser The Only Difference teaser Villain teaser

2 comments

  1. Lisa Gillis · July 2, 2015

    Love the excerpt and teasers, adding to my tbr, thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ladypuercoloco · July 2, 2015

    Thanks Lisa!

    Like

Leave a Reply

