Blog Tour: Samantha Jacobey’s Rendered

I am thrilled to present Samantha Jacobey’s Rendered this morning, including my review, of course, and an exclusive interview with the author herself!   I think you will find this first book in a new series really enthralling…and it will make you think about how prepared you are for the end of the world.
Rendered
Irrevocable Series Book 1
Samantha Jacobey
Genre: New Adult Dystopian, Romantic Suspense
How do you survive, when the only life you’ve ever known disappears in a single night? With more friends than she could count and the daughter of two wealthy attorneys, Bailey Dewitt had a life most kids dream about. A cheerleader, the auburn haired beauty lived in a large house, where she could afford to be and do whatever she wanted. Residing in a smaller community outside of Chicago, she attended high school, getting ready for college and the fabulous career that would one day be hers. And in a single night, she lost it all; the night her parents died. 

Dragged away from the only home she has ever known and forced into the care of her renegade uncle, Bailey must learn to play by a new set of rules. Faced with tough choices, she soon learns that nothing will ever be the same. When she meets Caleb Cross, she realizes her life in Illinois had been a lie. For the first time in her life, she has the chance to be truly happy. That is, if she can earn her place among the people in the tiny prepper community of Lawson… 

 
 
 
Anyone who knows me could tell you, I am a friendly kind of person, never met a stranger and take up conversations anywhere at any time. I work hard, and my mind never seems to shut down, as I wake up often in the middle of the night with ideas pouring out and demanding to be dealt with. Of course that means much of my books were written in the middle of the night.
I grew up and still live in the great state of Texas where everything is bigger, where we have warm weather and a central location. I love my state, my town, and my family, which includes my four sons, my significant other, and many friends as well.
I have thoroughly enjoyed writing this story and hope that you will love reading it just as much. And of course, there will be many more adventures to come.
Author Media Links – You can follow Samantha Jacobey at:
 

Exclusive Author Interview
L:  First of all, I have been a member of Sam’s Fan Club/Street Team on Facebook for several months. It is so fun, and wonderful to interact with an author on such a personal level. Did you start this based on interactions with authors you like?
SJ:  Actually, I started writing on a whim. I have always been a daydreamer, and when Tori’s story became totally plausible to me, due to things I was seeing in the news, I decided to share. As far as interacting with my fans, it has been very rewarding. I know that many authors have street teams, and we do function loosely as that since I ask your help often when I am needing votes or shout outs. But more than that, it is a fan club; I love popping in and hanging out with you guys when I have time.
L:  Your body of work covers such different genres. Do you have a favorite amongst your literary “children”?
SJ:  Tori’s story will probably always be my favorite, since it was my first. I love writing and telling stories, and have so many different ideas. It keeps it interesting for me; fresh and new. I hope that is the same for my readers, and that I will always keep them guessing.
L:  Being a huge music fan, I have to ask if you have a Playlist that goes along with Rendered?
SJ:  Actually, it’s muchly the same as what I listened to when I wrote the New Life Series… I am a metal kind of girl, so I have a huge collection. Inside of that, Alice Cooper, Hey Stoopid… Hurricane Years…. yeah that’s a song that moves me, and I think as you work your way through the series it will be clear as to why.
L:  I’m sure this has come up many times before, but what was your inspiration for Rendered?
SJ:  I can now call myself a RETIRED high school science teacher (WHOOP), so this is a subject close to my heart. There are TONS of crazy stories out there – aliens, zombies, atomic wars… all things that are huge and exciting, and totally not realistic. I wanted an end of the world scenario that was completely plausible, because I believe we are right in the middle of a mass extinction event… the closing of one phase in the history of the world, and the beginning of a new one. Will the human race be on the other side? Only time will tell… I tell people my story will change the way you think about Armageddon, and I believe by the end of book three, that will be absolutely true.
L:  What can we expect next from you?
SJ: Here’s a list of what I have slated…
June 23rd – DARK ANGEL (book 2 of the SUMMER SPIRIT NOVELLAS)
July 14th – RETAINED (book 2 of the IRREVOCABLE SERIES)
August 11th – FORGOTTEN ANGEL (book 3 and this year’s finale of the SUMMER SPIRIT NOVELLAS)
September 1st – RECOMBINED (book 3 and finale of the IRREVOCABLE SERIES)
TBA – TEACH ME TO PREY – a standalone thriller
Oct 2015 – a Halloween thriller
December 2015 – a Christmas thriller
2016 – 2 dragon books, 3 new A New Life Series Books (spin-offs), 3 new Summer Spirit Novellas…
L:  I mentioned your Facebook group. Are there social media links you would like to share here so that people can find out more?
SJ:  You can follow Samantha Jacobey at:
Website: http://www.SamJacobey.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SamJacobey
Twitter: https://twitter.com/SamJacobey
Pinterest:  http://www.pinterest.com/samanthajacobey/


My Review:
This is the first book in a new trilogy by Samantha Jacobey, and a new direction to her writing as well.   Some things that haven’t changed from other Samantha Jacobey books are the story that completely sucks you in, and that you can expect everything to be well presented and excellently edited.
Bailey is the all American girl in her junior year in high school when tragedy strikes and her whole world is turned upside down.   She and her twin brothers, 7 years younger than her, suddenly wind up with an uncle who is virtually a stranger to her and in a town in Texas that doesn’t seem to be on the same planet as the suburban Chicago area she has lived as long as she can remember.  And that is before they head to The Ranch.
As Samantha mentioned in the interview above, this is a realistic look at the end times.  It all rings as highly possible as being the life someone not far away could truly be living.   And then there is the heart and soul of Bailey, which is easy to relate to and will suck you in.   I enjoyed this more than I thought I might when I began seeing teasers for it, and cannot wait for Book 2!



2 comments

  1. samantha jacobey · June 16, 2015

    ty for the post gf – enjoyed it!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

